Meet Nick & Carly

A video message from Nick & Carly

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Nick & Carly

Hello from Virginia! We are an energetic couple excited to become first-time parents through adoption. We are a Catholic family who enjoys spending time with our dog and our extended families. We love being outdoors, playing and watching sports, singing in our church choir, and playing board games. We look forward to sharing these experiences with your child and building a relationship with you over the years through letters, pictures, and visits. Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us!

About Us

We first met in graduate school and have been together for 7 wonderful years. We initially bonded on our long walks talking about our shared interests in faith, family, and adventure. We truly enjoy spending time together and strive to have a true partnership. We love staying active by playing with our dog, running, weight lifting, hiking, and playing sports. While we love adventuring, we always look forward to returning home and enjoy cooking family meals and talking about our day over dinner or a campfire.  Faith is central to our lives – you will often find us teaching religious education, leading confirmation retreats, or playing (Nick) and singing (Carly) in our church choir.

We have always had it in our hearts to grow our family through adoption – we even talked about it on our third date! After our fourth pregnancy loss, we felt God telling us that now is our time to adopt and we are excited to welcome our first earthly baby into our family.

We are looking forward to sharing our passions with your child in a home filled with family, love, and faith.

My Wife, Carly

Carly is an amazing wife, woman, and partner. She is hardworking, outgoing, energetic, ambitious, and loves having something to do every minute of the day. She has lots of hobbies that keep her busy including cooking, exercising, reading her bible, volunteering at church, gardening, teaching herself piano, cross-stitching our family stockings (she’s working on your child’s stocking right now!), and of course, keeping up with her friends and family.  

Carly is a Dietitian with a flexible work schedule and looks forward to being a Mom first when your child joins our family. She loves being around children — she volunteers at Sunday school activities, works with children almost exclusively in her job, and loves having our nieces and nephews around! When spending time with our nieces and nephews, Carly is able to match their energy and is always up for a story, a game, a cuddle, or a trip to the playground. I know she is excited to raise our child and share her love of the outdoors, family, education, and faith.

My Husband, Nick

Nick is a wonderful husband and partner. He is hardworking, patient, loving, silly, and understanding – these traits will make him a great Dad. He has several hobbies including cooking, playing guitar, weight lifting, reading, playing with our dog, and watching the Packers play.

Nick is an  IT Project Manager and works a typical 9-5 job, but his work has always been very accommodating to our family’s needs. He is great at what he does and enjoys his work! Nick is great with children of all ages. Every year, Nick returns home to Wisconsin to volunteer with Boys State, which is a camp for high school-aged males looking to develop their leadership skills. It is also a true joy to watch him interact with our young nieces and nephews. When spending time with them, he is always available for a midday nap, building a fort with legos, or a trip to the playground. He will be a wonderful role model for our child and is most excited to watch them grow and teach them to play sports.

Meet Our Family

All of our family is supportive of our adoption and there are many wonderful grandparents, aunts, uncles, and friends who look forward to welcoming your child into our family. We see Carly’s Mom and Step-Dad often as they live about 45 minutes away. We often meet for dinner, enjoy a barbecue with her siblings, catch up at holiday gatherings, and for special Mom and Carly days. Carly’s Dad and Step-Mom live in Florida. We enjoy their company while we tour their neighborhood on their golf cart. We usually end up at the lagoon or at the tennis courts! Nick’s family lives in Wisconsin. He has a large extended family that loves to gather regularly. We are usually there for one of the major holidays and try to visit in the summer for a nice long weekend at the lake.

Welcome to Our Home in Virginia

Our home is a three-story, three-bedroom home with a finished basement located in a beautiful suburb 30 minutes from Washington, D.C. Our gender-neutral nursery is already in progress and ready for your child! We have a two-level deck that backs up to a walking path and trees. We enjoy spending our evenings on our deck grilling or having a campfire and making S’mores. Our neighbors are very friendly and many of them have young children of their own. Our surrounding neighborhood has walking trails, playgrounds, tennis and basketball courts, and swimming pools. Our favorite park and playground are about 10 minutes away and we can be found there most weekends with our dog, Audie. We’ve had him since he was a puppy and he is very well behaved with kids. He loves to walk, run, hike, play frisbee, and snuggle.

We Promise...

We promise to love your child as our own. We will teach and model for them a life with faith at the center. We promise to respect their unique interests and encourage them with unconditional love and support. We promise to raise your child to know and love their personal story. We promise that you will be spoken of with respect, love, and appreciation within our home and to maintain contact with you as much as you feel comfortable with.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Nick & Carly

  Nick Carly
Our EducationMasters of Information TechnologyMasters of Science
Our ProfessionsIT Project ManagerOutpatient Dietitian
Stay-At-HomeNoPart-Time, but will work from home
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasian/WhiteCaucasian/White
Some of Nick & Carly's Favorites
MovieThe PrestigeAbout Time
Thing about ChristmasCookiesLights
SportFootball and BaseballVolleyball
Outdoor ActivityHiking and KayakingHiking
Board/Card GameTicket to RideCode Names
Family ActivityCampfire and Yard GamesBoard Games
DessertIce Cream with ChocolateCherry Squares
More About Our Family
Our Faith

We are Catholic Christians. We believe in the Trinity - God, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. We try to create time and space in our day for the Holy Spirit to guide our daily life as we navigate our marriage, our family relationships, and work situations. We love our local Catholic Church and attend mass weekly. We can be found singing in the choir or teaching religious education to children. Many of our close friends attend our church and we enjoy playing with their children, enjoying monthly dinners after Mass or celebrating holidays and birthdays together. We look forward to encouraging your child to grow in faith and having them be a part of our church community.

Our Pet

Audie is our 9-year-old mini Australian Shepherd. He is very special to us! We enjoy bringing him with us on any trip we can - whether it's to go hiking or visit family. He enjoys being active throughout the day playing frisbee or going on a walk and finishing his day with family snuggles on the couch.

He has been around small children and has always been well behaved around them and enjoys herding kids to keep them all together. It's so fun for us to watch our nieces and nephews throw his frisbee and get excited when he catches it.

Family Traditions

Nick and I have built a life we love. We love to adventure and also appreciate our family traditions.

- Long hikes at National Parks (we hope to visit them all)
- Trip to Nick's family's lakehouse
- Fall Festivals and Pumpkin Patches
- Carly and her Mom baking Christmas cookies for the extended family
- Attending Easter Vigil Mass and Christmas Eve services followed by a family dinner
- Family Vacations
- Board games

Things We Look Forward to Doing with our Child:

- Teaching them to pray, read the Bible, and receive the sacraments
- Reading with them
- Being active with them/playing sports
- Baking Christmas Cookies
- Taking them for boat rides
- Having family board game night
- Seeing them play with our friends' children and our nieces and nephews
- and so much more!

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Our Age Preference

Newborn to 3 yrs old

Open to Twins:


Open to Siblings

Yes. We are open to adopting up to 2 children, up to age 3.

Our Gender Preferences

Either gender

In Closing

Thank you so much for spending time getting to know us. We look forward to walking through this process with you and welcoming your child into our family. We are so looking forward to growing our family through adoption and sharing life’s adventures with your child. We want to share these special moments with you and are open to photos, calls, letters, or visits. Love always, Carly and Nick

Call or Text us